A Massachusetts drivers license suspension may happen as a result of failure to obey state laws and regulations. The state Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) may revoke your driving privileges by issuing a suspended drivers license for driving-related or non-driving-related offenses.
Drivers can reinstate suspended driving licenses by fulfilling a list of requirements after the suspension period is over. The reinstatement procedure may vary depending on the type of violation or offense you have committed. For more information about how to complete an MA drivers license reinstatement process, continue reading the sections below.
Reinstating a Massachusetts Suspended License
Drivers need to reinstate suspended driving licenses in Massachusetts in order to continue legally operating motor vehicles on public roads within the state. The steps of the reinstatement process may vary depending on the severity of the violation. A suspended drivers license may be issued due to a variety of reasons, such as:
- Immediate threat.
- Improper operation of a motor vehicle.
- Falsification of documents.
- Operation Under the Influence (OUI).
- Failure to pay child support.
- Outstanding arrest.
- Failure to register as a sex offender.
- Drug trafficking.
- Failure to pay income tax.
- Wrong payment to the RMV.
In addition, driving with a suspended or revoked drivers license is a criminal violation and drivers may be subject to heavy fines, jail-time and additional penalties.
How to Reinstate a Massachusetts Suspended Drivers License
Reinstating suspended drivers licenses in Massachusetts is a procedure that motorists must complete in order to continue their driving privileges in the state. The drivers license reinstatement procedure varies depending on the type of suspension involved.
To begin the process, drivers need to visit a nearby RMV office. In certain situations, motorists may need to attend a walk-in hearing held at a specific RMV Service Center. As part of the driving license reinstatement procedure, drivers are required to pay the applicable fees.
Suspension Periods in Massachusetts
The Massachusetts drivers license suspension periods vary depending on the type of offense you have committed and on the type of permit or license you hold. The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) can suspend the driving privileges of motorists who have committed criminal offenses, for the given periods:
- 30 to 180 days: drag racing by drivers older than 18 years of age.
- 60 days to one year: operating a motor vehicle with a suspended drivers license; leaving the scene of an accident when there is a property damage; operating a motor vehicle dangerously; careless driving and injury due to mobile phone usage.
- One year: defacing property or applying graffiti.
- One to two years: leaving the scene of an accident when there is a person injured.
- One to three years: operating a motor vehicle without the owner’s authority.
- One to five years: drug trafficking conviction.
- 15 years to lifetime: committing homicide or manslaughter while operating motor vehicles.
Drivers who are Operating Under the Influence (OUI) of alcohol or drugs, will receive a drivers license suspension period of one year for first offense, two years for second offense, eight years for third offense, ten years for fourth offense and a lifetime suspended driving license will be handed down for a fifth offense.
Massachusetts Point System
Suspended drivers licenses in Massachusetts are issued as a result of accumulating demerit points on an individual’s driving record. The state Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) has created a Safe Driver Insurance Program (SDIP) in order to approve the issuance of surcharges or discounts by insurance companies.
The SDIP is a surcharge point-based system which can issue insurance surcharges. An MA drivers license suspension may be brought on by a certain number of surcharges on your driving record. The number of surcharges that you can get for a surcharge incident is the following:
- Major traffic law violation: 5 points.
- Major at-fault accident: 4 points.
- Minor at-fault accident: 3 points.
- Minor traffic law violation: 2 points.
Traffic School in Massachusetts
When facing suspended drivers licenses in Massachusetts, drivers are required to attend state-approved traffic school courses for accumulating too many driving record points, committing multiple traffic violations, or to complete a court order. The MA Driver Retraining Program is mandatory for drivers who have drivers license suspensions, or who are required by court to complete it.
Motorists may face suspended driving licenses after accumulating three or more surcharge events in a period of two years. If you want to reinstate your driving privileges, you have to enroll in the MA Driver Retraining Program, either due to a court order or on a voluntary basis.
Types of Massachusetts Drivers License Suspensions
Motorists may get suspended drivers licenses in Massachusetts due to failure to obey state laws and regulations. Your driving credential may be revoked or suspended for the following reasons:
- Committing minor or criminal traffic violations.
- Operating motor vehicle under the influence.
- Accumulating several offenses.
- Participating in an accident which was your fault.
- Failing to pay income tax.
- Committing fraud.
- Failing to pay child support.
Drivers who think that they are involved in a situation when they can get a drivers license suspension in MA, may request a copy of their driving records to check their status.
Massachusetts DUI Suspensions
Drivers may face Massachusetts drivers license suspensions for Operating Under the Influence (OUI) of alcohol or drugs. The MA Registry of Motor Vehicles imposes strict penalties for OUI-related violations.
When committing a first OUI offense, drivers may attend a court-assigned Alcohol Education Program from 45 to 90 days, or get suspended drivers licenses for one year if found guilty. Motorists who commit a second OUI offense will get two-year suspensions of their driving privileges.
A third offense will bring them a four-year suspension period, while committing a fourth offense will get them suspended driving licenses for a period of 10 years. As part of the requirements for reinstating drivers licenses in Massachusetts, every committed offense after the first one will require drivers to pass a written exam and road test, and to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID).
Drivers who are found guilty for a fifth OUI offense will get lifetime drivers license suspensions and will not be able to reinstate their driving privileges. When operating motor vehicles under the influence of alcohol or drugs, drivers may get their period lengthened. This may happen as a result of a previous suspension, of carrying a child of 14 years of age or younger in the vehicle, or of causing serious bodily injuries to passengers.
Older Than 21
Drivers may get drivers license suspensions in Massachusetts due to an arrest for Operating Under the Influence (OUI) after determining their Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level. Drivers who are 21 years of age or older may get suspended drivers licenses for 30 days if they are found to be driving with a BAC level of 0.08 percent or more.
Younger Than 21
Suspended driving licenses may also be issued to minor drivers who are Operating Under the Influence (OUI) of alcohol or drugs. Drivers younger than 21 years of age may get a 30-day drivers license suspension period for being found to have a BAC level of 0.02 percent or more.
Car Insurance Suspensions
Motorists who want to avoid drivers license suspensions in Massachusetts need to maintain minimum liability car insurance coverage. The minimum amounts that drivers need to purchase are $20,000 for bodily injury to one person, $40,000 for bodily injury in an accident, $8,000 for Personal Injury Protection (PIP), $20,000 for bodily injury to one person caused by an uninsured auto, $40,000 for bodily injury in an accident caused by an uninsured vehicle, and $5,000 for property damage.
Traffic Summons or Failure to Pay
Suspended drivers licenses in Massachusetts may occur as a result to unpaid traffic tickets or court fines. For instance, failure to respond to a civil citation within 20 days will make you pay late and release fees on the citation, and will waive your right to a court hearing.
Motorists may pay their civil citations online, by mail or by phone. Drivers who fail to pay the total fine within 30 days of the notice will be issued drivers license suspensions by the MA Registry of Motor Vehicles.
Massachusetts Hardship Drivers License
Drivers with suspended drivers licenses in Massachusetts are eligible to obtain hardship licenses, which will allow them to continue legally operating their motor vehicles during specific hours of their suspension period. The Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) issues hardship credentials to licensed drivers who are Habitual Traffic Offenders, or who have committed offenses, such as: first offense (24D), multiple offense (Operating Under the Influence – OUI), or drug offense (94C).
Applying for a Massachusetts Hardship License
A Massachusetts drivers license restoration process allows drivers to apply for a hardship license for driving their motor vehicles to and from specific places, such as your workplace or school. Motorists who want to obtain a hardship credential must first attend a hearing at an RMV Hearing Site and provide the required documentation.
Depending on the type of offense you have committed, the requirements for a hardship license may differ. Read the exact requirements you need to fulfill on the official RMV website, before heading to a regional Hearing Site. Whilst serving out a suspended drivers license term, drivers will get a Restriction H added to their license or driving record, if they are approved to get hardship credentials.
Note: When the hardship license expires, or the RMV approves you a drivers license reinstatement, the H restriction will be removed from your driving credential or record.
Fees to Reinstate a Massachusetts Drivers License
When reinstating suspended drivers licenses in Massachusetts, motorists are required to pay certain fees to the state Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV). The fees vary depending on the type of violation you commit, but drivers are most often required to pay a $100 reinstatement fee.
From motorists who want to reinstate drivers licenses, more serious violations require higher payments. The highest reinstatement fee is $1,200, when your driving privileges are suspended as a result of a third or fourth Operating Under the Influence (OUI) offense for both adults and minors. For a complete overview of MA drivers license reinstatement fees, check the RMV website.
Massachusetts License Reinstatement Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
Last updated on Tuesday, March 3 2020.
- Reinstate your driver's license from mass.gov
If your suspension period is 2 years or more, you are required to take a full exam (learner's permit exam and road test) in order to reinstate your suspended/revoked learner's permit or driver's license.What are you required to do if your license is suspended or revoked in MA? ›
The suspension or revocation in Massachusetts must be removed manually by the RMV, even if the effective date has not been reached. If the Massachusetts suspension has taken effect, you will be required to pay a $100 reinstatement fee.How long does a license suspension stay on your record in Massachusetts? ›
The Massachusetts RMV must suspend your driver's license if you get seven surchargeable events over thirty-six months. Like the other suspensions, the three years is a 36-month look back from the most recent ticket conviction date.How much does it cost to reinstate registration in MA? ›
Bad payments made to the RMV
A $15.00 fee is charged for all bad payments. A $100.00 fee is also required to reinstate your driver's license, right to operate, and/or vehicle registration. These fees are payable by cash, certified check, or money order only made payable to MassDOT.
If your Massachusetts license or right to drive in Massachusetts has been suspended or revoked, you will likely have to pay a reinstatement fee prior to getting your license back. You can pay this fee at any Massachusetts RMV Branch.What happens if you drive with a suspended license in Massachusetts? ›
The penalty for driving with a suspended license in Massachusetts is imprisonment for not more than 10 days. There is also a mandatory fine upon conviction. Anyone convicted of driving after the suspension will have their driver's license suspended for additional 60 days.Why would license be suspended in MA? ›
Mandatory suspension types
Conviction of a criminal motor vehicle violation (e.g., operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs or leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury or property damage) Administrative actions involving chemical tests for alcohol or drugs.
90 § 23, Driving with a Suspended License in Massachusetts is considered a misdemeanor criminal offense. Often written on a ticket by the police as “Operating After Suspension”, this criminal charge must be defended in Massachusetts District Court.How do I reinstate my suspended license in NH? ›
- Fulfill Driver's License Suspension Period.
- Satisfy All Court Requirements.
- Pay All Fines & Legal Fees.
- Pay Driver's License Reinstatement Fees ($100)
- Install Ignition Interlock Device on Vehicle (if applicable)
- Complete Alcohol Treatment Program (if applicable)
It is legally possible to buy and register a car with a suspended driver's license, but you must have valid car insurance in order.
A hardship license is a restricted license in that it allows you to drive for a set 12 hour period, 7 days a week. In order to be granted a hardship license, you will need to provide adequate documentation that you would suffer a significant “hardship” without this limited use license.Do you lose your license immediately after a DUI in Massachusetts? ›
The RMV will suspend/revoke your learner's permit/driver's license or right to operate immediately. There is no notification period.Can I reinstate my registration online in Massachusetts? ›
This can be done online through myRMV, through the RMV's Contact Center, or at an RMV Service Center.What happens if you get pulled over with expired registration in Mass? ›
The penalties for a conviction on a first offense Expired or Revoked Registration criminal charge include fines ranging from $500 – $1,000 and jail time of not more than 10 days. The penalties for a subsequent Revoked Registration include fines of $500 – $1,000 and jail time of 60 days to 1 year.Is there a grace period for registration in MA? ›
Massachusetts allows a grace period of seven (7) calendar days from the date you dispose of your previous vehicle to register your new vehicle. Under this grace period, the following conditions must be met: You must be at least 18 years old.What is the Massachusetts driver retraining program? ›
The RMV may require you to attend the Massachusetts driver retraining program. This program is sponsored by the National Safety Council and aims to change an operator's behavior behind the wheel, as required by Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 175 Section 113B.What is the phone number for the Massachusetts RMV suspension department? ›
The RMV will call customers, either using a restricted number or 857-368-8000, on the scheduled date and time of the hearings.How do I speak to someone at the Mass RMV? ›
- RMV Contact Center: 857-368-8000 (from the 339/617/781/857 MA area codes or from outside of MA)
- 800-858-3926 (from all other MA area codes) or email AskRMV@state.ma.us.
- The deaf and hard of hearing can call toll free at 877-RMV-TTDD (1-877-768-8833).
- Contact Center Hours: Monday–Friday 9 a.m.–5 p.m.
Carpool with coworkers.
You can also try to join in on a carpool group that is already established. In exchange for not taking a turn driving, offer to chip in for gas or buy everyone lunch on occasion. If the same person drives every day, offer to contribute some money towards their parking permit, if needed.
What are the Penalties for Driving Without a License in Massachusetts? Operating a vehicle without a valid license is a criminal charge in Massachusetts, and a conviction can result in a fine of up to $500 (or up to $1000 if the license was revoked) and possible incarceration.
A Second Offense DUI Conviction will result in a suspension of your license for up to 2 years. In order to qualify for a 2nd offense hardship license you will need to first complete the 14 day in-patient program. From that program you will need to provide the Registry with a Discharge Summary.Do out of state tickets affect points in Massachusetts? ›
In Massachusetts, points will be assessed against your MA driver's license for almost all out-of-state traffic offenses. Out-of-state traffic violations “will be treated by the RMV like they happened in Massachusetts.” (See chapter 2 of http://www.mass.gov/rmv/dmanual/chapter2.pdf.)What is a jol in Massachusetts? ›
To obtain your Junior Operator License (JOL), there are requirements that you must meet in addition to the standard driver's license requirements.What moving violations are tracked in Massachusetts? ›
Some examples of moving violations are speeding, running a stop sign or red light, and drunk driving. A non-moving violation, by contrast, is usually related to parking or faulty equipment.What is the driver's license revocation period for operating to endanger in Massachusetts? ›
Operating to endanger (1 year revocation for subsequent conviction within 3 years).What moving violations are tracked in Massachusetts by the RMV and recorded on your driving record? ›
The RMV records all moving violations in Massachusetts on your driving record. Moving violations can increase your motor vehicle insurance rate (see Chapter Six). They may also cause your license to be suspended. Parking violations are not CMVIs.Is it possible to obtain a copy of your Massachusetts driving record? ›
You can instantly obtain a copy of your Massachusetts Driving Record on-line from the Massachusetts Registry of Motor vehicles by visiting the Express Lane of the Mass. RMV Website. You can obtain either a certified or uncertified copy of your record.How long do you lose your license for DUI in NH? ›
First-time offenders lose their license for 20 days; two-time offenders cannot drive for 45 days; and third offenses carry a 90-day suspension. The final determination of the suspension will be made by the Bureau of Hearings. If you lost your license after a DUI, you are probably concerned about maintaining your life.How long does it take to reinstate a license in NH? ›
20 days for the first offense. 45 days for the second offense.How much is the reinstatement fee for a driver's license in NH? ›
$100 reinstatement fee: this can be sent in to NH Department of Safety, Financial Responsibility, Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301, OR you can pay this in person. Be sure you put your date of birth on any money order or check submitted. Money orders and checks should be made out to: NH DMV.
You must serve, or otherwise resolve, the other state's suspension before you may reinstate in Massachusetts. Clearance from another state is required when the RMV is notified of a suspension, revocation, or cancellation in another state. If your license is suspended, you will be required to pay a reinstatement fee.Can Massachusetts suspend an out of state license? ›
The law permits the Registry of Motor Vehicles (“RMV”) to not only suspend your license indefinitely until you are cleared of any other out of state suspensions, it also permits the RMV to suspend your license for out of state offenses just as if the offense had occurred here in Massachusetts.Can you insure a car without a license in MA? ›
Can I Get Car Insurance Without a Driver's License? The answer to this question – in Massachusetts – is yes.What is a Cinderella license in MA? ›
A cinderella license is a type of restricted license that allows the person who holds it to drive for a limited amount of time each day. Driving time is usually capped at a maximum of 12 hours during a 12-hour period – i.e. from 8:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m., seven days a week.How long does it take to get a hardship license in Mass? ›
If you are self-employed, you need to provide articles of your business registration. In most cases, I am able to assist my clients in getting a hardship license withing 7 to 10 days of the conclusion of an OUI case. That is the time that it takes the courts to process the paperwork and send it to the Registry.When can you get a hardship license in Massachusetts? ›
The Massachusetts RMV issues hardship licenses to customers whose licenses are suspended for DUI or being a habitual traffic offender. It is also possible to get a hardship license for a 7 surchargeable events suspension or an ignition interlock violation.How long does a suspended license stay on your record in Massachusetts? ›
Like the other suspensions, the three years is a 36-month look back from the most recent ticket conviction date.How long is a DUI on record in MA? ›
In Massachusetts, any first DUI conviction will appear on your criminal record for life. You may request that your DUI be sealed from your record, but there is no guarantee that that request will be honored. An arrest may appear on your records, but an arrest does not signify guilt.How many points is a DUI in MA? ›
|Violation||Number of Points Assigned|
|Operating under the influence||5|
|Leaving the scene of an accident where there is property damage or bodily injury||5|
|Refusing to stop for a police officer||5|
|Operating a vehicle after suspension or revocation of a driver's license||5|
If your license, right to operate, or vehicle registration is suspended due to a bad payment, you must make full restitution before your license, right to operate, or vehicle registration can be restored. A $15.00 fee is charged for all bad payments.
RMV Service Centers. If you need to complete an in-person permit (non-CDL), license, or ID transaction, you are required to make a reservation online.How much does it cost to reinstate your registration in MA? ›
Reinstatement Fees: Reinstatement Fees are determined by MGL, Chapter 90, Section 33. They range from $100.00 to $1200.00.What is the violation 90 9 in Massachusetts? ›
No person shall operate, push, draw or tow any motor vehicle or trailer, and the owner or custodian of such a vehicle shall not permit the same to be operated, pushed, drawn or towed upon or to remain upon any way except as authorized by section three, unless such vehicle is registered in accordance with this chapter ...Can you have an unregistered vehicle on your property in Massachusetts? ›
(c)Unregistered Vehicles. A vehicle that does not bear a current license plate is deemed to be unregistered. Only one unregistered vehicle may be maintained on any residential lot and may be stored only in the rear yard screened from the public way or within a completely enclosed building.Is an expired registration a moving violation in Massachusetts? ›
Yes, an expired sticker is considered a moving violation in Massachusetts.How do I reinstate my expired registration in MA? ›
Type mass.gov/myRMV into the address bar of your browser. Then press the [Enter] key on your keyboard to visit the myRMV Online Service Center webpage. 2. Select the Renew My Registration button.What does a non renew for registration mean in MA? ›
A person placed in such status will be unable to renew his/her license and registration upon their expiration until the subject excise has been paid. Prerequisites To Use Of The Non-Renewal Process. The Supreme Judicial Court in Wright v.How long do I have to renew my registration in Massachusetts? ›
Vehicle registrations must be renewed every 1 or 2 years depending on the plate type. Online or by mail: Allow at least 10 days to receive your registration and plate decals in the mail.Is Massachusetts RMV accepting walk ins? ›
If you need to complete an in-person permit (non-CDL), license, or ID transaction, you are required to make a reservation online.Can you reinstate Cancelled plates in MA? ›
There is no fee to cancel your registration. However, if your registration has been revoked due to an insurance obligation, a reinstatement fee will be added to the account and will need to be paid before registering the vehicle in Massachusetts with a new plate number.
To drive in Massachusetts, a vehicle and trailer needs to be properly registered with the RMV, and the vehicle owner must have a legally acquired title.Do you need a title for a car over 20 years old in Massachusetts? ›
The Massachusetts title law requires that all motor vehicles and trailers be titled within 10 days of purchase. Passenger vehicles with a model year of 1980 and older, purchased before November 26, 1990 are exempt from titling. Trailers that are 3,000 pounds or less are also exempt and do not need a title.How much is a mass ID? ›
|Massachusetts ID Card Fee||$25||each|
To get or renew any driver's license, ID card, or learner's permit, you need documents and/or proof of your Social Security number, U.S. citizenship or lawful presence, and Massachusetts residency as required by federal and state law.What is an NDR violation Massachusetts? ›
The purpose of the nationwide Non-Resident Violator's Compact is to enforce citations issued to out of state drivers by requiring the driver's home state to suspend or revoke his license due to a citation received in another state.Can I get a license in Georgia if suspended in another state? ›
No, you cannot get a new driver's license when your license is still suspended in your previous state. States check the National Drivers Register to check for problem drivers.